EXIN ITAMOrg IT Asset Management Foundation

IT is business critical for any organization and handling of contracts, licenses, economy and technology require skills across traditional professional boundaries. Responsibility for the significant values and risks associated with IT often end up in a gap between financial-, contract- and IT-management.

IT Asset Management (ITAM) forms an important element in a business strategy enabling cost control, risk reduction and improved business value in the IT asset lifecycle.

IT Asset Management Foundation covers the four key areas of IT Asset Management: Hardware Asset Management, including “mobile devices”; Software Asset Management; Services & Cloud Asset Management and People & Information Asset Management, including "Bring Your Own Device".


The certificate IT Asset Management Foundation is part of the EXIN ITAMOrg qualification program and has been developed in cooperation with international experts in the field.

Target group

IT Asset Management Foundation is intended for all key personnel in the organization involved in the IT lifecycle. Whilst this certification has an IT focus, it has been specifically designed for non-IT personnel in mind.

Specific roles/responsibilities could include (but are not limited to):

  • Overall management
  • IT Manager
  • Procurement Manager
  • Financial Manager
  • IT Operations Manager
  • Project Manager
  • Process Manager
  • Contract Manager
  • Risk Manager
  • Business Continuity Manager
  • Security Manager

Requirements for certification

Pass the related EXIN exam. An accredited training IT Asset Management Foundation is highly recommended.

Examination details

Examination type:         Computer-based or paper-based multiple-choice questions

Number of questions:    40

Pass mark:                   65%

Open book/notes:          No

Electronic equipment/aides permitted: No

Time allotted for examination: 60 minutes

The Rules and Regulations for EXIN’s examinations apply to this exam.